Traffic Commission

Traffic Commission


The Traffic Commission's primary responsibilities include:

  • Acting as an advisory body for City staff regarding landscaped median improvement projects within the public right-of-way.
  • Advising the City Council on traffic issues including automobiles, public transit, pedestrians, and individual wheeled transportation aids such as bicycles, scooters, and wheelchairs
  • Advising the City Council on traffic management issues which require approval by the City Council including, but not limited to, traffic circulation matters such as traffic light synchronization, special traffic studies, and special parking studies
  • Annually providing the City Council an updated priority list of projects that reflect the Circulation Element goals of the General Plan
  • Exercising decision-making authority and allocation of funds for priority signal ranking
  • Exercising decision-making authority over and conduct periodic reviews of the Neighborhood Traffic Management Program (NTMP), including traffic management measures to be implemented and authorization of NTMP funds
  • For activities within the public right-of-way not subject to administrative permit procedure, such as encroachments, provide advice to the City Council
  • Providing review and advice to City Council concerning proposals involving public transit issues
  • Reviewing City studies related to speed limits and make recommendations to the City Council


The Traffic Commission shall meet as needed on the 3rd Wednesday of the month at 6:00 p.m. at City Council Chambers, City Hall. Members of the public who wish to participate in meetings can find instructions on the agendas.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Staff Liaisons

James Ozouf

Staff Liaison
Phone: (951) 461-6075
Email James Ozouf

Renée Santos

Support Staff 
Phone: (951) 461-6099
Email Renée Santos

Meet the Commissioners

Guillermo Valdez

Term Expiration: December 31, 2026

Wesley Burchartz

Vice Chair
Term Expiration: December 31, 2026

Carlos Gallardo

Term Expiration: December 31, 2024  

Gianni Limogiannis

Term Expiration: December 31, 2026  

Mark Powers

Term Expiration: December 31, 2024  

Andres Ortiz

Alternate 1 
Term Expiration: December 31, 2026

Maria Robinson

Alternate 2 
Term Expiration: December 31, 2026