The Murrieta Police Department Records Bureau is located at 2 Town Square, Murrieta, CA 92562 and maintains copies of police reports, traffic collision reports, and arrest reports. We make appointments for Livescan fingerprinting, court ordered registrants, and stations tours. We are located between California Oaks/Kalmia and Juniper on the west side of the Interstate 15 Freeway behind Lowes.
The Records Bureau is open 6 days a week, Monday through Saturday, from 7:00 am to 5:00 pm.
Dispatch is available 24/7 at (951) 696-3615.
The Murrieta Police Department has a front lobby accessible to the general public. The front lobby is open 6 days a week, Monday through Saturday, from 7:00 am to 5:00 pm. The front lobby is staffed with a desk officer four days a week, Monday through Thursday, from 9:00 am to 4:00 pm, and is available to assist you with any questions or to take any report that does not have any suspect information. They can be reached at (951) 304-2677.
How to obtain copies of Police Reports
Criminal related report:
This would involve any report where a crime was committed against you or you were arrested for any reason. Copies of this type of report require you to fill out a form and give us a copy of your identification. The police department has 10 days to respond to your request. We do not release any reports immediately. There is a fee for a copy of the report, photographs have a separate fee. Fees can be paid by cash, check or credit card. Police reports and traffic reports are limited to involved persons, insurance companies, and representing attorneys. Arrested persons are not allowed copies of their arrest reports until the case has been adjudicated. All police reports are released under the guidelines of the California Public Records Act. It is not our normal practice to fax or email requests.
Non-Criminal report or Incident:
Non-Criminal report and incidents. You must be named on the report or be the caller to obtain a copy of this type of report. There is a fee and the 10 day rule applies. If you are a homeowner and are requesting a copy of incidents that occurred at your property, you must show us a copy of your title. Arrests are not-releasable to you. If you live out of state or out of the area please call (951) 304-2677 for further instructions. Computer search requests may be subject to a fee per the City fee schedule. All police reports are released under the guidelines of the California Public Records Act. It is not our normal practice to fax or email requests
Reports involving juveniles have limited release per the California TNG order. Please call (951) 304-2677 for further information. These reports can’t be faxed.
Request for Clearance Letters:
A clearance letter is a document confirming a person’s lack of a criminal history in a place where the requesting party has lived or worked. This document may be needed to obtain, change or update a visa. Clearance letters are issued by the local police department where the person worked or lived and are an affirmative statement that the person has a clean criminal record.
The applicant must provide the following:
1) Valid Driver’s License
2) Proof of Residence (Driver license, copy of Deed, Utility bill)
3) Official letter requesting a local background check be completed
The fee is $15 for non-notarized or $25 for a notarized letter. The police department has 10 days to respond to your request.
Request Your Own Criminal Record:
The Murrieta Police Department is not able to complete your criminal history for you. The California Department of Justice provides an automated service for criminal history background checks that may be required as a condition of employment, licensing, certification, foreign adoptions or VISA/immigration clearances. For more information please visit the California Department of Justice’s website.
In order to obtain a copy of a police report for your client, we must have a signed affidavit from your client stating you are representing them. This affidavit may be faxed or emailed prior to coming to the station and the fees must be paid prior to any release.
Fax number: (951) 696-3608
Email: Karen Cannella
If you have any questions, please call the normal business line at (951) 304-2677.
Please visit the Obtain Collision Reports webpage for details.
Court Ordered Registrants:
See the Registrants webpage.
Karen Cannella - Lead Records
Susan Weigman - Traffic Police Services Technician