Redistricting 2021

The City of Murrieta has five districts, or regions, with a City Council member representing each. All cities with city council districts must engage in “redistricting” every 10 years following the census count in order to ensure that each district continues to have equal populations. 

In 2017, the Murrieta City Council transitioned to a district-based voting system to elect its City Council Members. To learn more about the history of the districting process in Murrieta, visit the 2017 Districting webpage. The City of Murrieta must now ensure that no changes are needed in light of the new 2020 federal census data.

Ordinance 568-21

On November 16, 2021 during the Redistricting - Introduction of Ordinance Public Hearing the City Council introduced Ordinance No. 568-21 to adopt the district boundaries outlined in Draft Map B. The City Council will vote to adopt Ordinance No. 568-21 during the December 7, 2021, Regular City Council meeting.

Ordinance 568-251             Ordinance 568-21 Summary  

Draft Map

On October 28, 2021 during the Redistricting - Live Map Drawing Public Hearing the City Council provided direction on the development of a draft map to be considered for public review:

Draft Map B

Redistricting Draft B

How can I get involved in the redistricting process?

The redistricting process was designed to be as transparent and accessible as possible. 

To create and submit your own redistricting map, visit Murrieta's online redistricting tool. For a guide on how to use the online tool click here.

Visit the resources below to learn more about Murrieta’s 2021 redistricting process and how to get involved.

Redistricting Video: Are you a Community of Interest?

View the September 25 Redistricting Workshop